New arrivals in August

August is usually the end of my summer shopping spree, and the pile of new stuff is a little smaller than those of June and July, because I went back to my apartment the 25th, and I had to stop ordering stuff well before that to be sure that nothing would arrive after I left. Problems… πŸ˜›

20160831_131300
Pocket size Thoth Tarot, Hermetic Tarot, and The Byzantine Tarot

I wanted a small Thoth deck because I was planning to trim it to have a truly mini deck, but now that I have it, it seems small enough πŸ˜› Still too much border, though, so it might get cut just a little. Although borderless would be best. The Hermetic Tarot was an impulse purchase. I’ve been looking at it for a while, but it was always a deck that could wait, until I came across someone that said it was the best deck ever, omg. So I bought it, but I haven’t really checked it out yet… The Byzantine is pretty, but I expected it to be gilded. It wasn’t, which was a slight disappointment, but it still looks pretty good. It’s already been trimmed now, and shit, that was a lot of work… The images were printed off-center and some were crooked, all the suits were slightly different sizes, and every single one of the majors had to be checked and measured individually before I cut them. And then I had to adjust most of them by a millimeter or so at the end anyway. Sigh.

20160831_131347
Crystal Wisdom Healing Oracle, Transparent Oracle, Gods and Titans Oracle, Australian Wildflower Reading Cards

The Crystal Oracle is in the middle of being trimmed, as I really couldn’t stand the cut of the cards. They are gilded in a matte silver, which is pretty, but the cards have been cut back-to-front, and there is a ridge around the edge that’s noticeable enough to make shuffling difficult. And flattening the cards would make them uneven sizes, so yeah. The borders are coming off. The bright colors don’t match the crystals and steals the attention. The Transparent Oracle needs a wash (but I love it), the Gods and Titans will get silver edges and a pretty bag, and the Wildflower deck will be combined with the Flower Reading Cards. I’ve obviously been into flowers this summer πŸ˜›

20160831_143209
Fairy Lenormand, Middia Lenormand & matching pouch

The Fairy Lenormand is a deck that I had to have simply to cross it off the bottom of my list of mass market lenormands… It was down there with the Pagan, which I’ve yet to buy. The Middia, however, was on the top of my list, and it did not disappoint πŸ˜€ It’s the only lenny I’ve seen with a Happy Squirrel card. So cute!

20160831_143236
Runes Oracle (deck & book set), Jeu du Destin

The rune cards are from a deck and book set, where, stupidly, the book is attached to the box. I thought I could take the deck and book and ditch the box, but nooo… And the Deck of Destiny is a purchase from ebay. I think I found this on French Amazon, but once again their shipping rates made me buy the deck from someone else. It’s not a Sibilla and not gypsy cards (I’m iffy about that term, but it seems to be a type of deck and I don’t have another word for it), all the cards have people in them. I’ll do some research and get back to it when I do the review πŸ™‚

20160831_231304
Rory’s Story Cubes, Voyages and Actions

I’ve been working on a divination system for these cubes, writing the meanings in a book for the symbols that aren’t completely self-evident. These two sets are the last two I needed of the big sets that I didn’t already have. Now I need about three more of the little expansions, and I’m done πŸ™‚

20160831_131418
Pookie Cat Rune Cards, Druidcraft Tarot (deck)

The Pookie Cat rune cards are from a Kickstarter that wasn’t supposed to be completed until October, but arrived here a couple of days before I did, so I’m adding it to this month’s loot πŸ™‚ And the Druid Craft tarot was bought in an actual store a few days ago, because I’ve been thinking about it for a while, but the big set is expensive and I don’t know if I really need the book… And so when I found the deck by itself in the bookstore, I just went and bought it πŸ™‚ It’s going to get trimmed, because the cards are enormous…

So that was it for this summer. Things will slow down now that I’m home and have less free time to spend looking for decks on the internet πŸ˜› Last year I made a goal of only buying one new deck a month for the rest of the year. I failed, of course, but I did try. Will try again this year πŸ™‚ Maybe I’ll make an extra rule of two decks (one tarot and one oracle) if something new and exciting pops up…

Oh, but on top of the things I’ve posted about here, I’ve backed a few Kickstarters during the summer, which are due to arrive from October to February next year. So I really should be set, even if I don’t buy anything new until Christmas πŸ˜›

Oh oh, but also, that out of print deck that I ordered from two different Amazon stores finally shipped! It shipped from Germany, so it shouldn’t take long, but I made the order in early June, so it’s going to arrive at my mother’s house… My order at US Amazon was to my home address, but I canceled that one because I don’t need two. And no, I’m not going to say which deck it is, because I don’t want to jinx things πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

