Review: Fairy Lenormand

As I said in the quick review post, this is a deck I have opinions about… I suppose won’t be doing many lenormand reviews, because for the most part a lenormand is a lenormand ๐Ÿ™‚ And of course that means I’ll probably only end up doing reviews when the news are not so good… and I really don’t like speaking badly of people’s creations, so we’ll see.

First of all, though, I need to say that this is quite a pretty deck to look at. I was skeptical because I’m not a fan of (completely) digital art that’s made to look realistic, because it tends to look flat and lack perspective. And after the disappointment at the Tarot Draconis by the same artist (it’s dragons and I should love it, but I didn’t, and I’m still upset about that), you could say that my expectations for this one were low. Most of the images in this deck are perfectly fine for a lenormand deck, without too much unnecessary stuff, some are even downright perfect, but then there are a few…

I still haven’t found a lenormand where every single card is perfect and the way I want it, but I feel like this deck has too many of the annoying ones for me to get around. First, there’s the people cards…

20160819_131928
Facing the same way :/

One other thing that bothers me is the card inserts. I usually like to have them, but for some reason I don’t like them here. Especially the red suits, they just stick out too much and takes the focus from the image on the card. I wish they were done in a more muted red. Also, some of the court cards are hard to tell apart, which defies the purpose of having them there…

20160904_142131

There are some cards that are too cluttered. There doesn’t need to be a fairy in every card for this to be a fairy deck – and some cards have no fairies – but when there is, it should be in the background and not the main focus of the card. Some of them just steal too much attention from the main symbol.

20160819_132206
The clover is too small, all I see in the Ship card is the fairy with the lantern, and the Anchor is hidden in the huge troll’s lap and behind a fucking dancing fairy…
20160819_132047
The House card is so dark I can barely tell what it is, the Heart isn’t even a heart, the Lily is orange (I want it to be white), and the Path – while it does actually have a split road in it – is dark and confusing with the sun and moon, plus the actual split is hidden behind a fairy
20160819_132016
Too much mountain in the Clouds, and too many clouds in the Mountain… which could also be the Path..?
20160904_142326
The snake is the perfect example of why I don’t like this guy’s art – it’s just so flat, and everything is texture, which isn’t helping with the lack of perspective… The Garden is okay, but I still have to wonder which card I’m looking at for a little while. Same problem with the Whip, because of the fairies in it. The whip and broom disappear next to the two kids in colorful clothes (although they’re illustrating the meaning with their argument). The Child card is just confusing because so many cards have fairies in them that it makes me look at this and try to figure out what I’m *really* supposed to find in the picture…
20160904_142213
These two are basically the same card, the composition is so similar that I constantly get them mixed up. And of course it doesn’t help that the fish are super colorful with feathery fins, and aren’t even in water…

And lastly, the size of the cards is ridiculous. How the hell am I going to do a grand tableau with this shit?

20160904_215039
I can barely hold the deck! Card compared to a poker size…

Been seriously thinking about trimming this deck, but I’m not sure how I’d do it to improve it the most. Maybe circular would be an option? The card backs would look like shit, and they would be different from each other, but I could live with that. The images on the front are all that matters… I’ve seen people actually change card backs with contact paper, though, so maybe that’s an option? We’ll see.

But, to end this post on a good note, here are some of the cards that I really like ๐Ÿ™‚

20160904_142253

Leave a Reply

